(77): The Clutter in my House is Creating Clutter in my Brain

Betta Tryptophan
Invisible Illness
2 min readJan 14, 2017

--

How did I let it get like this? Answer: Little by little, focusing somewhere else, being too tired, etc. Excuses, excuses…

Life in a Hoarder House, Part Two…

As is the way of things around here, the few anchor items in the living room have accreted junk around and on top of them, and now, I can’t get to the front door unless I rearrange things. I feel the tendrils of this disorder creeping into my brain, and I can’t focus on writing. I think it will be a minimal post for today while I attempt to suppress the pain in my back and head long enough to fix the problem in my living room (and other rooms by extension, as that junk has to go somewhere) to a small extent. You people who live in normal, relatively neat houses have no idea what this does to a human being.

I’m sure there are studies that show people who live in hoarding situations have smaller brains than those who live in a neat environment. My brain is feeling small now, and it seems to be shrinking. I’m gonna take the day to fix my environment as much as my pain-ridden body will allow. Then I hope to come back with some real deep thoughts, or at least a clever turn of phrase or two.

See y’all!

UPDATE 1/17/2017: I’ve spent maybe 5–6 hours over a couple of days working on this problem, and the area in question now looks a bit different. (I refused to sort through or mess with the foreground clutter on the gramophone, so it is still full of clutter).

Look well: it probably won’t last!

--

--

Betta Tryptophan
Invisible Illness

Blue-haired middle-aged lady with a tendency to say socially and politically incorrect things and to make inappropriate jokes. Awkward and (sort of) proud of it