A losing battle

-jhm
Invisible Illness
1 min readJan 9, 2017

--

I start to feel myself getting low
The sadness starts to creep in
Each thought is a leech, in my mind there’s a breach
A battle I know I can’t win

There’s despair in the depth of my depression
Pushing me towards a life I can’t lead
I fight to contain it, I try to explain it
But there’s no fighting this dark little seed

It grows, taking hold of my body
Exhaustion is starting to set in
My mind is racing, my body pacing
Here’s where the bad thoughts begin

You are not worthy of love, I say
You are not good enough for him
He will deceive you, then he’ll leave you
And you’ll kill yourself on a whim

You are damaged and ugly
No one understands your pain
Your anxiety is real, you’ll never heal
Your life has nothing left to gain

My control is wavering slowly
It’s easier to just give in
I get locked into my mind, trying to find
The key that will help me within

Now I’m comfortable here in the darkness
It’s where I spend most of my time
Searching for relief, but depression the thief

Does not allow me to let the light shine

--

--

-jhm
Invisible Illness

i hope you find something for you here. Instagram: @healingthroughwords_