Mental Health/Relationships/Life

Are You Afraid to Love for Fear of Loss?

Make the most of the life you now live

Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readNov 20, 2020

--

Photography33/Deposit Photo/197641034/licensed to author

I never expected to live as long as I have.

When a person reaches midlife, he or she begins to think, more days lie behind me than days left in front of me. I began to have those thoughts as a child.

My mind always defaulted to loss.

My father died when I was three, and one grandfather shot himself when I was six. My other grandfather had debilitating Parkinson’s Disease, so, I never really knew him. An automobile accident paralyzed my brother when I was nine.

Being a man looked to be high risk. Women, on the other hand, appeared to be indestructible.

I thought I would die when I was thirteen years old because thirteen is an unlucky number. I registered for the draft when I turned eighteen, and I began to think, So, this is how I am going to die.

In 1975, I was 32 years old, and I had a three-year-old daughter. My father was killed in a farm accident when he was 32 and I was three. Is this a coincidence or a harbinger of things to come?

Don’t love too much

--

--

Loren A Olson MD
Invisible Illness

Gay father; Psychiatrist; Award-winning author FINALLY OUT. Chapter excerpt here: http://bit.ly/2EyhXTY Top writer on Medium. Not medical advice.