MENTAL HEALTH/PSYCHIATRY/PSYCHOLOGY

Are You Keeping Secrets in Your Therapy?

Your therapist will not abandon you if you share them.

Invisible Illness
Published in
4 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Middle-aged man sits with female therapist while considering revealing a secret.
Daxio_Productions/DepositPhoto/92192076

We all want to present ourselves favorably, but in therapy, we have different rules about that than we do in social discourse.

After reading Timothy O’Neill’s excellent story, When You Lie To Conceal The Full Extent Of Your Illness”, I thought it might be useful to write about what transpires on the other end of that couch.

O’Neill’s story gets to the heart of a lot of the work we do in therapy. The two cardinal rules of therapy I learned in my training were: 1. Always explore any change in affect or emotion that you observe. 2. Always analyze the resistance.

Exploring emotion

In ordinary social discourse, if someone starts to cry, we get anxious, and the usual response is, “There, there, don’t cry.” We want the tearful person to feel better, but in most cases, we are uncomfortable with their emotion and don’t know what to say, so we try to shut it down.

But as a therapist, I don’t run away from those emotions. I might say, “I see there is a tear in your eye. Tell me about that tear.” I want to focus the patient on that feeling and to have them tell me about it.

--

--

Invisible Illness

Gay father; Psychiatrist; Award-winning author FINALLY OUT. Chapter excerpt here: http://bit.ly/2EyhXTY Top writer on Medium. Not medical advice.