Being Yelled At Traumatized Me

I grew up with a mother who would yell at me excessively because that is what her mother did to her growing up.

Justine Rodes
Invisible Illness
Published in
4 min readOct 4, 2020

--

Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Back in the day, yelling at children was considered a popular parenting style, but little do they know that if it is excessive it can really hurt the child’s brain development. I am not saying to “never” yell at your child because I know sometimes they deserve it if they misbehave; however, I believe that yelling should be the last resort.

I grew up with a mother who would yell at me excessively because that is what her mother did to her growing up. Because of this, I have developed severe anxiety in my adulthood. I always fear that someone is going to yell at me if I did something wrong. I would even get extremely anxious if I get yelled at over something I didn’t do.

Obviously, we all get yelled at during some part of your life whether its by work, your parents, your significant other, friends, etc. We all have experienced it, but there is a point where it becomes extremely damaging to the brain.

Being frequently yelled at changes the mind, brain, and body in a multitude of ways including increasing the activity of the amygdala (the emotional brain), increasing stress hormones in the bloodstream, increasing muscular tension, and…

--

--

Justine Rodes
Invisible Illness

Writer for Invisible Illness and Better Advice l Listen to my podcast Mentally A Badass IG:mentallyabadass