Build a Ladder: How to Cope When You Feel Crummy

Or: How two Canadian YouTubers living in Japan taught me one of the best coping skills I’ve ever learned.

Matthew Maniaci
Published in
6 min readSep 21, 2019

--

Photo by Samuel Zeller on Unsplash

Anyone who follows me even a little knows that I have bipolar. I’ve been living with a mental illness diagnosis since I was 12, which was coincidentally the first time I wanted to kill myself. At this point, depression and suicidal thoughts are old friends.

Thankfully, I am medicated and largely stable now. That’s not to say I don’t have my down days. There are days that I feel like garbage, I’m not motivated to do anything, and I don’t want to take care of myself.

This happens to a lot of people, regardless of any illness. Sometimes, you just wake up on the wrong side of the bed. However, those of us with an invisible illness, such as mental illness or chronic pain, can experience this more frequently. Some days, it’s hard to get out of bed.

I like Japanese culture. I enjoy anime and Japanese video games and pop culture. I have been a bit of a Japanophile ever since middle school when I saw my first anime on Cartoon Network. I have carried this love of Japanese stuff into adulthood.

My wife, also a fellow fan of Japan, found a pair of YouTubers who live in Japan and post vlogs about…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Invisible Illness

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.