Neurodiversity | Psychology

Clumsy, or Neurodivergent?

An explanation of some unexpected ADHD and Autistic traits

Invisible Illness
Published in
8 min readAug 12, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Grundtner from Pexels

I was nervous but on the surface…

…. I looked even more nervous.

One of the very first dinners I had with my now husband’s family was Thanksgiving dinner. I was in my early 20s, we were newly dating, and I was heckin’ nervous.

I already struggle with anxiety, now add to this meeting my partner’s large, happy family during a fairly major holiday dinner. Yikes.

How did it go, you might ask?

Welp.

During dinner, I noticed a big salad bowl near my right elbow and was trying to keep my elbows in so that I didn’t knock it over. Unfortunately, in doing so, I was cutting my turkey at an awkward angle. My hand slipped, and I somehow ended up with a little mashed potato…. In. My. Hair.

I am not sure if anyone else noticed, but my partner subtly pointed it out to me, so I excused myself to the bathroom and tried not to cry as I nearly had a panic attack over my clumsiness.

Or at least that’s what I used to call it.

It turns out that neurodivergent people are not really “clumsy” after all. In…

--

--

Invisible Illness

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.