Depression and Thermopylae

Morgan Olson
Invisible Illness
2 min readMar 8, 2018

--

Lately I’ve been unable to write anything new, or anything of substance. I’m starving for prose with no nourishment in sight. This anguish is crippling, controlling me, leaving me paralyzed in its wake. I’ve never known this level of discomfort. I feel like a virgin, unable to perform my basic purpose. I was put here to tell those that are hurting that the relief of pain is the sweetest joy.

In times of extreme pain, remember the ecstasy that is felt in relief. Without black there is no white, and nothing in between. Your struggles are mighty and plentiful, and I have my demons too. But your pain is not eternal, and your demons not invincible. They can be wounded. They can be hurt. They can be quieted. But remember that they are immortal. You can never be rid of your demons.

This means you are never alone. My oldest and dearest friend is my most vicious demon. He knows not the gifts he brings me. My demons think they break me down, but this allows me to be built back up. Take the darkness lightly, for they must not be your demise. Surrendering to them will not end your pain it will transfer it to those around you.

Our demons are vampires. They need human blood. Fear not, for you shall never be put to an impossible test. You may never have won against them before. You may never have even fought. I hadn’t for a long time. And like I had done, you may have even succumbed to their version of you. But I still believe in you.

Any accomplishment was once thought to be impossible, even our very existence. You have been given an opportunity in this life of ours. You are not part of the pathetic and downtrodden. You are part of a select, chosen few. You are a Greek child of Sparta, and this is your training. You will go through eons of torture, but you will come out of it the toughest warrior in all history.

Your demons do not live in Thermopylae. They are not your final test. All of your life is at Thermopylae. You must fight against insurmountable odds always, and eventually life will take yours, as it does to us all. But if you fight, in the end you will go with grace and beauty, and we will all know, forevermore, that you were the toughest warrior who ever lived.

--

--

Morgan Olson
Invisible Illness

Writer. Poet. Romantic. I am no Lorax, I only speak for me