Depression is Not Your Fault

You can stop blaming yourself for the way you feel

Luke Rowley
Published in
3 min readOct 29, 2018

--

“woman leaning against wall facing down” by Eric Ward on Unsplash

As I came out of my second test for the week I felt relief that the stress was over. I finally felt like I could relax.

Little did I know that this was the calm before the storm.

That weekend I crashed. By the following Monday, I could hardly stand the thought of going to work and barely made it out of bed.

I was in one of the worst depressive episodes of my entire life.

A couple of weeks previous my computer crashed, leaving me in an anxious panic as to how I would work and get homework done.

Just days later was my son’s birthday, on the same day that I taught a 40-minute lesson in church.

The next day I took my first test of the week, and two days later I took another test.

All of this while working full-time.

Each of these events coming together in such close proximity was too much for my mental health. I broke down and I’m still recovering.

As I started to awake from the sleep-like mental state of depression, I had a thought come to my mind. I hope that it helps you through your mental health struggles as well.

--

--

Luke Rowley
Invisible Illness

Goal Engineer. Get my free 5-day email course to learn my 4–4–4 goal-setting system so you can stick to your goals all year long: https://bit.ly/3f8bhyR