Healing Your Inner Child from Sexual Abuse

If we pretend it didn’t happen it doesn’t mean that it didn’t

Eva Grape
Published in
6 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

Do You Remember the First Time You Got Angry? Give it some thought, and then let it sink in. You might be in for some revelation.

The Preamble

I had been in therapy for over a year when I had that mind-blowing session that everyone expects to have. Yet I was shit scared to experiment with it. It happened unexpectedly. That day, when we started, I had nothing to vent about. Hence my expectations for that session were nothing near what I ended up getting.

Everything started with a question my therapist asked, more or less, out of a sudden. She said, “Eva, do you remember the first time you got angry?”; (those that know me by now through my stories and my publication know that anger is a central emotion in my life).

I remained silenced in front of her question, not because the question itself was unpredictable, because we were working with that emotion for a while already, but more because I had no idea what to answer. I eventually responded, “How far back do you mean?” to which my therapist quickly replied, “As far as you can remember.”

With this, another moment of silence followed, only to hear myself thinking, “Who can remember such a

--

--

Eva Grape

Side-hustler mom writes about marriage, relationships at large and psychology.