Facebook Shows Me Cringey Posts I Made 15 Years Ago — It Taught Me A Lot About Myself

There were deeper struggles under the surface

Ryan Fan
Published in
8 min readMar 27, 2024

--

Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Recently, Facebook has been showing me Facebook posts I made from 2009 to 2011 in a collection of “your memories on Facebook.” I just turned 27 years old, but at that time, I was 12 to 14. I don’t know anyone who is ultimately super proud of who they were at 12 to 14, and I certainly fit into that category of people who have grown and changed for the better.

Let me preface by saying I’m not going to screenshot any posts Facebook is showing me I made from that time. They are too embarrassing, too cringey, and a version of myself I’d rather not expose to the public anymore. I have a rule, contrary to much general advice given to my generation, not to delete any old social media posts or articles I write. I try to embrace my whole self and past rather than sanitize it or try to pretend I was never struggling or held an opinion I’m ashamed of. It certainly helps that I rarely posted about politics during this time, too.

However, I did see a post from 13 years ago where I posted “I really wish I was white.” As an Asian person who is now very entwined with a very diverse community, and who has been steeped in 13 years of diversity and antiracism training and exposure I didn’t have…

--

--

Ryan Fan
Invisible Illness

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”