Four Changes That Helped Me Heal Arthritis

Lifestyle shifts that helped me reduce inflammation and rebuild healthy joints

Katie Critelli
Published in
7 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

Image used under license from Shutterstock.com

Introduction

My hands and wrists have always been the most special- and vulnerable- parts of my body.

Growing up, they allowed me to pursue my passion for playing harp; then as an adult, they were the part of my body hit hardest by Lyme disease arthritis. When arthritis struck three years ago, it felt like I lost my hands and everything I relied on them for. Playing harp, doing my job, writing, and even combing my hair all became too painful.

Yet today, my hands are strong and healthy and I’ve even achieved a personal milestone: taking aerial arts classes and using my hands to support my entire body. The improvements didn’t come from curing Lyme disease- after struggling for months to eradicate Lyme bacteria from my body, I switched my approach. Instead I focused on healing my gut and reducing systemic inflammation; stabilizing my joints and strengthening supporting structures; and improving blood and nutrient flow. My goal was to support my body to reach a state where disease could no longer thrive in it.

After three years of trying many things, I want to share the four lifestyle changes that have helped me most in healing from…

--

--

Katie Critelli

I help women experience more vitality, pleasure, and confidence by connecting with their bodies 💃 https://www.find-your-spark.com/