Have Panic Attacks? Let’s Talk About It

I battle with a panic disorder. Here’s what panic attacks are and how I cope.

Kennedy Wren
Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readOct 29, 2020

--

On October 20th, 2020, I had the worst panic attack I’ve had in years. It was brought on by the overwhelming stress of my personal life, and an asthma attack. All of that mixed together was caused my chest to tighten, breathing to quicken, and extreme fear to swirl around in my mind.

I’ve battled anxiety and panic attacks since I was 16 years old. I started having them due to the stress and expectation that not only I but other people put on me. I had this huge fear of being a failure in life. I either had to be good at everything or I wouldn’t make money (which seemed to be the driving force for everything in my life at that time).

Until one day, My mind and body couldn’t take it anymore and passed out in my mom’s car on the way to ballet class. It was the scariest moment of my life at that point. I had to be taken to the hospital because of the chest discomfort and “panic” like feelings I was having. Luckily, the doctors and nurses at that E.R were extremely kind and took great care of me.

As the years went on, I was able to handle and cope with them as they came on. But that still doesn’t make it less scary when it happens, I just know when one’s about to come on and…

--

--

Kennedy Wren
Invisible Illness

God has completely healed me from Mental Illness. Now I share my life experiences living in total freedom as a Prophetic Pastor.