How Did You Survive Mother’s Day with Your BPD Mother?

Your quick guide for any family gatherings

Eva Grape
Published in
7 min readMay 10, 2021

--

Photo by Elly Fairytale from Pexels

BPD people have a hard time in social interactions.

For as long as I can remember, I was not too fond of family gatherings that included my mother. As you can imagine, when I was a child and during early adulthood, all family gatherings had her, which made celebrations like Christmas, Easter, and birthdays anxiety-inducing events.

My mother is socially awkward. Her behavior stems from low self-esteem issues, which she tends to hide by overcompensating. Consequently, she becomes very loud in a group setting, and if she doesn’t have her way, she’s quick to snap. My mother doesn’t seem to care that she’s making a scene. That's why situations that involve alcohol, such as family gatherings, don’t end up well.

By definition, my mother suffers from a borderline personality disorder (BPD). It’s undiagnosed because it’s pretty difficult to convince her to go for a simple physical check-up, let alone a mental one. But according to traits of people with BPD, she’s there.

So I was a kid that dreaded holidays. If I knew we had family meetings, my anxiety built up in expectation for my mother’s way of dealing with these events. And she never “disappointed.”…

--

--

Eva Grape

Side-hustler mom writes about marriage, relationships at large and psychology.