How Should I Talk About What Happened to My Eye?

I know how to joke about my eye, but not how to talk about it

Jamie Toth, The Somewhat Cyclops
Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readJul 23, 2021

--

The author with a white vision blocking contact lens on her left eye, wearing a mockup of 18th century stays because she loves to make things.
Image Source: The Author.

Trigger/Content Warning: domestic violence, rape.

I am losing vision in my left eye from a juvenile cataract. The process is slow and difficult for me (others have different experiences). I’ve had some exceptional doctors look at it (back when I had the means to do so), and it’s inoperable. To help with my vision issues, I block the vision from my left eye, by wearing a vision blocking lens (one that covers the pupil) to block large amounts of light so it acts the same as an eye patch.

I have synesthesia, and because of the ‘sound’ that a black contact lens makes, I prefer to wear a white lens. It’s not as ‘noisy’ and I like the aesthetic. One day, my eye will be like that naturally. It will be beautiful.

This means, however, that I’m somewhat visibly impaired when people meet me. I prefer it this way. The vision on my right side isn’t that great (it’s excellent for catching movement in the periphery, though), and people could do with a warning that I can’t see on that side in case they care about blindsiding me.

Once I answer any sort of question about my eye, invariably the next comes — how’d that happen?

--

--