How To Overcome Your Rejection Issue

It’s your choice

Froyle Davies
Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readMar 5, 2020

--

I have always known that I was adopted. While my parents were great people and I knew they loved me, I still felt a deep sense of rejection. This affected my self-worth and the way I viewed the world. I never really believed that I was enough. I felt I had been thrown away, unwanted and this feeling of abandonment crippled my ability to sustain lasting relationships.

At the age of 49, I began the journey of finding my birth parents. It was my friend Alison, who insisted that it was vital for my life. I was apprehensive and sceptical, she was insistent and determined. It was only through her perseverance that we found the people we were looking for. Actually, the process was much easier than I thought it would be. But instead of relieving my fears through a loving reunion, what I found only served to increase my lack of self-worth.

My birth mother had never told anyone that I existed. When she found out she was pregnant, she went away up north and gave birth at Auckland hospital. She adopted me out at 9 days old and then went on with her life, as though she had been on vacation. She didn’t tell her family or her friends, she didn't even tell my father and to add insult to injury, she is still keeping this secret, now 50 years later.

I was faced with my worst fear.

--

--

Froyle Davies
Invisible Illness

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com