How To Tell If Your Staff Member Is Suffering From Mental Health Issues

And the cues they give you that are impossible to ignore

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Image created on Canva

It’s heartbreaking to watch the people you love go through tough times. Lovers. Friends. Family.

And when you become a manager, business owner, and even a colleague amongst co-workers, you inherit more family. People you care about, you love, you fight with; you excel with it.

But with the addition of any new family members comes the inevitable concerns for them. And as our changing working landscape becomes harder to navigate, many are suffering.

Some years ago, I had the privilege of leading a team of tenacious young team at a fashion store. They were my children, in a way, and I cared for them beyond belief.

One of them started to decline in front of my eyes. Everything about her changed in such a short space of time. She wasn’t the same girl I met on my first day. I couldn’t put my finger on it. She wasn’t sick in the way we know it. It was something else.

My area manager began mounting unreasonable pressure on me to fire this girl. Words like ‘unreliable’, ‘unprofitable’ she used to describe her. But this wasn’t a person who gave up on her work. This was a girl who was hurting.

--

--

Ellen "Jelly" McRae

I’m here to use my wins and losses in #relationships as your cautionary tale | Writes 1LD; Cautionary tale women's fiction | https://linktr.ee/ellenjellymcrae