I Beat My Fear of Public Speaking Using Humor and a Mindset Shift

I went from being barely able to stand due to violently shaking legs to being calm, relaxed, and free on the mic

Chandrayan Gupta
Invisible Illness
Published in
10 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Photo by Alexandre Pellaes on Unsplash

Introduction: An Exceptionally Common Fear, One I Used to Share, Exacerbated by Crippling Social Anxiety

I still remember that time when I was ten or eleven and was in a public speaking competition. I believe the topic was what I would do if I received ₹1000. The time limit was either two or five minutes.

Some three hundred students had convened in the assembly hall, and the participants approached the microphone and delivered their prepared speeches. Alone. No pieces of paper were allowed.

I had no speech prepared. And I was petrified.

I did not believe in speeches, because if I forgot one word, I would panic. I had memorized several talking points. But my heart was racing and I felt restless. I felt like something was wrong.

I remember the participants were seated at the side of the stage, and I was chatting with a friend of mine when my name was called.

--

--

Chandrayan Gupta
Invisible Illness

2x Psychological Crime Thriller Author | 415+ Articles Across 10+ Publications on Medium | Instagram: chandrayan_gupta