I Can’t Make it Better, But I Can Make Tea

Dakota Montgomery
Invisible Illness

--

Photo by Loverna Journey on Unsplash

There is an astonishing amount of therapy to be found in making a cup of tea. The last time that I moved, I was fortunate enough to have a whole host of friends who helped me pack everything up and create some semblance of organization in my new home. I had an entire moving box stuffed with tea. Now I have an entire cupboard stuffed with tea and more teapots, mugs and flavours than I know what to do with. Except I know exactly what to do with the tea; drink it and share with friends.

Tea has many health benefits, from reducing inflammation to lowering blood pressure, but there are also many psychosocial benefits to sharing a cup as well. Making a cup of tea is a little ritual in itself. Boiling the water, selecting the brew, watching the timing the steeping to avoid bitterness and adding your chosen accompaniments are all things that take time and can invoke a sense of peace. A cup of tea is not a common choice for when you need a quick pick-me-up. And while I have been known to make myself a pot of tea and down it quickly during a late-night work session, I far prefer to take it one cup at a time and enjoy my tea.

Those who wander into my kitchen often find themselves plopped down at the kitchen table with a dog in their lap and a cup of tea. Tea can even be shared across long distances. One of my dearest friends lives on the opposite side of…

--

--

Dakota Montgomery
Invisible Illness

Crazy dog mom, mental health advocate, project manager and writer