I Changed My Life More than My BPD Diagnosis Did

A diagnosis can provide a starting point, but where to next?

Jess Mailinh
Invisible Illness
Published in
7 min readFeb 15, 2022

--

Spliced image of person’s profile exhibiting a far-away gaze
Photo by Larm Rmah on Unsplash. Edited on Canva.

Time was almost up.

She sat quietly in her chair. Without saying a word, she turned to her computer, printed two pages out, and handed them over.

“I want you to take this home. Read it over a few times — think about it. And look it up online too. We’ll talk more about what you found on Monday.”

I glanced down. A psychology textbook printout on borderline personality disorder (BPD)?

She saw my confusion and assured me that all she wanted was for me to come back ready next week with my findings. Nothing more or less.

“Don’t overthink it,” she said.

Photo of a textbook printout that discusses borderline personality disorder symptoms
Reckless behavior and self-harm? You can imagine my alarm when I first saw this printout. (Photo by author)

When I returned for our next session, I started chattering about how I felt BPD perfectly described my mother.

“What else did you notice?” she probed further. Silence again, except my end.

“Nothing?” she asked candidly.

I didn’t catch on and remember feeling awkward.

--

--

Jess Mailinh
Invisible Illness

I teach developers how to create technical content that isn’t boring. Love to share useful info. BPD & mental health advocate. First-gen. INFJ. 🐦@jessmailinh