I DISCOVERED A SUICIDE NOTE I WROTE 4 YEARS AGO

It’s not really a note; it’s a poem that I turned into a song

GB
Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readFeb 20, 2018

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

The first few stories I published were mostly about love, relationships, and positivity but this time, I’d like to open up more and share about the darker parts of my life.

I believe in the therapeutic effects of writing and by sharing what I wrote on Medium, I hope to relieve myself and bring light to others who are experiencing the same things I have experienced and some, overcome.

1. HAVING BAD DAYS AND HAVING REALLY BAD DAYS

I have bad days like everyone else. During these days, I feel down and tired. I don’t like to do anything and I lose interest in the things I once enjoyed. I don’t feel good about myself and I just want to be left alone. Usually, these bad days last a day or two, the worst, three.

But I also have really bad days (let’s call them RBD’s) that stretch into weeks, months, and even up to a year. I’ve had these RBD’s since I was a kid. During these RBD’s, I’d become a zombie; a zombie with a constantly worrying head and heart. I literally become a WALKING WORRY.

Everything I do is laden with fear and anxiety. I’d stop caring about the world around me but at the same time, my head would be filled with the worst things that could happen to me or the worst things that others would think of me.

I’d miss school and spend days cooped up inside the house. I’d spend most of my time being alone but deep down, I was craving for attention and help.

As I was growing up, I was confused what was going on with me. At first, I did not think there was something wrong but as I grew older, I started to wonder why the RBD’s keep on happening. Then, this idea was born in my head: THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH ME.

2. THE D WORD

I first encountered the term DEPRESSION when I was in high school. I thought it was just another word for being sad. I knew nothing about mental health during my younger years but after I became aware of the true definition of the D WORD, things started to become clear. Other people were experiencing the same things as me!

This knowledge might have made things clear but it did not help me at all. In fact, I was far from being okay when I started college. My mental health was pushed to the edge during my University days.

It was one of those RBD’s that I wrote a suicide note. That particular RBD’s were so bad that it lasted for a year. Maybe I’ll tell you all about it in another post and perhaps my other RBD’s as well and how I eventually moved past them.

3. THE NOTE

As promised in the title, here is the note that I wrote four years ago. I found it in the deeper parts of my Google Drive.

Kill me now; end my misery and my terrors

I see no good left in this world that awaits me

Drain my blood, break my bones, pull my hairs

Cut the string of life; untie me, release me free

Lift this heavy burden behind my back

Or better yet squeeze me under the whole weight of it

Let me be one with the dirt and stuff me inside the crack

Turn me into fine powder, into the crevices let me sit

And blow me away into nothingness

Forget me, the things I did, the person I was

Do no fret about me; do not lift the rocky mess

I left behind for you; run away, look away fast

Do not cry; don’t cry for me please

Instead, cry for the grass in the land where I lay

Let them grow, thrive, flourish and erase

The marks I left and the things I turned away

I won’t miss you there; so please don’t bother

Missing me is useless, wrong and foolish

I hurt you and chose to abandon each other

Goodbye for now, goodbye forever, I am finished

As I read the note, I feel nothing. I could not recall the feeling of utter sadness. I even had a hard time remembering what made me so depressed. I’d like to believe this is a clear sign that I got through that RBD’s and moved on with my life.

I’ve never been suicidal and I’ve never entertained my suicidal thoughts. But reading the words above, I guess there was a moment when I did.

The note signified that I had lost hope; that I wanted to disappear because life was too much for me; and that I wanted to be forgotten by the people I left behind.

4. THE SONG

I had a lot of free time during my worst RBD’s and I had a few moments of clarity.

During those few moments, I wrote. I put into words everything I was going through. I wrote journal entries. I wrote stories. I wrote poems. I wrote songs.

I tried to take control of my life during my worst RBD’s and some of the results were my written works. Here is the song that I wrote from my note:

A Note (Don’t Cry For Me)

Verse I:

If you are reading this

That means I’m gone

I’ve gone to the place I want

Not to be found

It seems all the good that’s left

Has been ran out

And the strings that were binding it

Were all worn out

Refrain:

From ash, I had come to be

In a world so free

To ash, I shall be returned

Be truly free

From ash, I had come to be

In a world so free

To ash, I shall be returned

Chorus:

Don’t cry for me, for me

Save your tears for the grass, where I lay

Let them grow and erase the things

Things I left and that I turned away

Don’t cry for me, for me

Save your voice for goodbyes, farewells

Save your air for the kiss, I’ll miss

And the days that we shared full of bliss

Verse II:

As they drain all the blood inside

I’ll flow with it

And if they burn everything of me

It’d be worth it

Let me fit under all those rocks

Inside their cracks

Or blow me to nothingness

Into the skies

Repeat Refrain

Repeat Chorus

Bridge:

To the place where I will go

There’s no more missing you

So please stop missing me

No grief, no misery

No grief, no misery

No grief, no misery

My friends and family

Repeat Refrain

Repeat Chorus

Outro (Repeat Refrain)

I wrote the song two months after I made the note. I was still in the middle of my RBD’s by then.

CONCLUSION

I had a year in my life that proved to be so difficult that I almost gave up. I can’t say I’ve dealt with it the right way by really taking my time to recover (a one-year hiatus). What I can honestly say is that I’ve dealt with it and completely moved past it.

That particular RBD’s will have a special place in my life. It’s a like a big sign that says, “No matter how terrible life may seem, what you can do is show up and be kind to yourself.” The words are from Shine.

--

--

GB
Invisible Illness

Some guy who just wants to write about his feelings