I Ran 10k a Day For 36 Days. Here’s What I Learned

At the end of the day, it’s testing the limits of my human capacity

Ryan Fan
Published in
10 min readDec 16, 2020

--

Photo by Isaac Wendland on Unsplash

For the past 36 days, I have run at least 10k a day as part of a fitness challenge to do the One Punch Man challenge. The challenge includes running 10k every day, doing 100 sit-ups, 100 squats, and 100 push-ups. The latter three are much more challenging to me than the run on some days, but the squats, push-ups, and sit-ups are all getting a lot easier. As someone who has run competitively through high school and college, the 10k a day was only a slight bump from the training I was already doing, and on some days, I run much more than 10k depending on what I feel like doing in my training.

One day, sooner rather than later, I hope to beat my personal best of 2:40 in the marathon. The goal for the current challenge is to keep up the One Punch Man challenge for 100 days total.

Let me make it clear: running 10k a day is not going to change your life. It’s not going to make you whole, and if you’re not smart about doing it, it might harm you more than it can help you, since overexercising actually has some health risks. I don’t want to oversell and say it’s something it’s not. I’ve been running for a long time, so running 10k a day wasn’t a big jump for me. But running every day has massive health…

--

--

Ryan Fan
Invisible Illness

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”