I Think My Bipolar Disorder Has Taken a Scary New Turn

Am I experiencing my first mixed episode?

Jennifer Nelson
Published in
5 min readAug 22, 2020

--

Photo by Armin Lotfi on Unsplash

I have type 2 bipolar disorder and, as such, I’m far more prone to depression than mania. In fact, it’s been several years since I’ve had a manic episode, but the last few nights have been a fresh round of hell.

According to the Mayo Clinic: “Bipolar II disorder is not a milder form of bipolar I disorder, but a separate diagnosis. While the manic episodes of bipolar I disorder can be severe and dangerous, individuals with bipolar II disorder can be depressed for longer periods, which can cause significant impairment.”

Additionally, bipolar disorder with mixed features (or a mixed episode) is a term used to describe either a manic state with depressive symptoms or a depressive state with manic symptoms.

Sleep Problems and a Mixed State Episode

I love to sleep, but usually, my bladder wakes me up after about 9 hours. One night I slept for nearly 12 hours. That scared me. I’ve never slept so long before. But one night of sleeping for 12 hours isn’t the problem. The problem is what happened a couple of nights later.

I didn’t sleep. At all. The whole night. I was awake roughly 36 hours, and for much of that time, I felt more awake than…

--

--