“I was suicidal and all alone…”

To my rescue….

Rachayita Roy
Invisible Illness
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2019

--

“ I was suicidal and all alone…My friend came to stop me making a journey of 68 km instantly when he heard about me. He was unwell too”

I was suicidal because I have clinical depression. I didn’t know how to stop myself from committing the heinous crime of killing myself. Didn’t want to tell my parents because why bother them. I took my phone in hand and typed a short message -

“I’m suicidal. Help!”

And pressed the send button, not expecting a reply. It was midday, I thought my friend must be busy working. Surprisingly, I got an immediate reply-

“Had your medicines?”

-Yeah. But seems to be of no help.

“Where are you?”

-In my PG, all alone.

“I’m coming!”

I was pleasantly surprised! How could someone have such a caring heart for me? During the phase of self-loathing, I questioned — How could I matter so much to someone? I have never taken that extra mile for him, why is he doing so for me?

My phone beeped, it was him.

“ Come out. I have reached.”

Because it’s a girl’s PG, I couldn’t let him in.

I went out with him, he comforted me, explained to me how important life is and how important I’m to this world and to HIM. He was hungry but refused to eat until I have eaten. He had other engagements but sacrificed everything for me. He was there with me for 3 long hours, made sure I had kicked out suicidal thoughts and left only then.

Before leaving he gave me a comforting hug, kissed my forehead and said,

“YOU are precious. Never try to harm yourself and hurt people who love you”.

I still couldn’t believe all this was happening for real!!

I’m simply blessed to have a friend like him. Not everyone has one, I’m fortunate enough.

PS: Suicidal tendency is common among patients with clinical depression. Never try to commit that. Control your thoughts, don’t let your negative thoughts control you.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Rachayita Roy
Invisible Illness

A bohemian and philomuse, in an endeavour to make a change by kindling a flame of hope amidst darkness