I’m the Happy Friend You Should Check On

I have perfected the art of fooling everyone

Laura Fox
Published in
4 min readSep 12, 2019

--

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

I have experienced anxiety and depression for the majority of my life. In fact, I can’t remember a time when I felt “normal” or “well”. I also can’t remember a time when people haven’t responded in the following ways when I disclose that I have mental health problems:

“No way!”

“I would never have guessed!”

“But you seem okay?”

“You don’t look like you’re ill.”

I’ve also experienced people questioning the validity of my mental health problems. Even healthcare professionals. I went to my GP last year for a health problem unrelated to my mental illness. She was looking at my notes and noticed that I am on anti-depressants. She said we needed to look at whether I even needed to be on medication. She looked at me quizzically and I knew what she was thinking.

“You don’t behave like an ill person.”

“You don’t seem depressed.”

“You’re too chatty and friendly to have anxiety.”

I don’t know what “looking” or “behaving” like an ill person is supposed to mean. But I guess what people are saying is that I do not match the stereotype in their minds of what an ill person is supposed to be…

--

--

Laura Fox
Invisible Illness

I write to heal myself and others. Instagram: @laure_e_fox_