In Order to Gain Health, I Had to Gain Weight

I realized this: stepping on a scale wouldn’t make me happy.

Ashley Broadwater
Published in
4 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Ashley holds scales that say “Life is worth more than a number” and words like “love,” “naturally better,” and “revive.”
Photo owned by Ashley Broadwater (author)

Usually, I would avoid media about “fat camp” at all costs.

I don’t believe in degrading fat people or believing that fat people always overeat. I know fatphobia is racist, classist, ableist and sexist and that weight is partially due to social determinants of health and genetics. I know 97 percent of diets fail and that the body mass index (BMI) scale has no basis. I know dieting is the biggest predictor of an eating disorder, which is the deadliest mental illness.

Additionally, I’ve struggled with dieting and disordered eating, and it’s a road I don’t want to revisit. I’m finally starting to love and appreciate my body like I always should have, and I’m finally gaining a healthy relationship with food and exercise that I don’t want to lose.

However, as I scrolled on Disney+ last night, I saw a movie called “Heavyweights” that essentially made fun of fat camp. The movie was about campers who rebelled against fat camp, brought candy to stash and had fun doing regular camp activities.

Now that kind of entertainment is something I’m after.

The movie was hilarious. I’ll give it that. But as much as I didn’t want this to happen or think it would…

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Invisible Illness

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater