Letting Go of Anger

GB
Invisible Illness
Published in
1 min readMar 6, 2019

--

I am angry
I am heavy
I feel it inside
I hold it in

I carry the weight
I become the weight
I am the weight
I am anger

It boils inside
Scalding my heart
Cooking my brain
I am anger

Everything is red
Everything is raw
Everything is sore

I inhale air
I exhale fire
Air, fire
Air, fire

Cold air
I breathe in deeply
Hot air
I breathe out gently

Hot air, not fire
Not anymore
Not as hot as before
But still hot, still angry

I breathe more deeply still
I welcome the cold
But still I am burning
Still weight-bearing

How can I
How can I let go
How can I let go of anger

I take in
The deepest
The coldest
Breath I can do

I keep it in
I reel it in
I close my eyes

Deep within
I feel myself
Slightly change
Just barely

And then I let go
No longer angry
No longer the anger
I am free

Was the cold air
A symbol
Of empathy
To cool my hot anger

Or was it
A summoning
Of indifference
To flush out my fuming rage

Does it matter
How it is done
Letting go of anger

--

--

GB
Invisible Illness

Some guy who just wants to write about his feelings