Lost & Found: How an Incurable Diagnosis Can Break Then Shape Your Identity for the Better

Sharing my story of living with an invisible, chronic illness on the Narcolepsy 360 podcast.

Kelsey Biddle
Invisible Illness
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2019

--

Click here to hear the podcast.

I recently had the pleasure of speaking with Claire Crisp, the executive director of Wake Up Narcolepsy, about my experience living with Type 1 Narcolepsy. During our conversation, I opened up about what it’s like to accept a lifelong diagnosis, to learn to manage it, then successfully adapt to find a “new normal.” You can listen to my interview with Claire on the Narcolepsy 360 podcast here (for other listening options: iTunes | Stitcher |Overcast | Google Play | Spotify).

In this podcast I talk about:

  • Grieving the loss of your former identity.
  • Finding a job and schedule that works for you.
  • Saying “no” to boring, unhealthy habits…and anything that puts you to sleep.
  • Finding new purpose and meaning in life.
  • Self-care and wake-promoting strategies.
  • What my “tired” feels like — quite different than “normal” tired.
  • What to say to someone with narcolepsy, and how you can be helpful.

If you’re interested in learning about narcolepsy, or hearing other stories and perspectives, you can find more Narcolepsy 360 podcast episodes here.

Thanks for listening to the podcast!

Kelsey Biddle

iTunes | Stitcher |Overcast | Google Play | Spotify

PS. If you haven’t read it yet, here’s my Medium article about my diagnosis and first year living with narcolepsy.

--

--

Kelsey Biddle
Invisible Illness

Dartmouth College graduate with an interest in neuroscience and mental health fueled by personal experience.