Maintaining My Mental Health During the COVID-19 Outbreak

When self-isolation and social distancing means I cannot use my usual strategies, it’s hard to know where to turn.

Laura Fox
Published in
6 min readMar 24, 2020

--

Photo by Dustin Belt on Unsplash

I developed agoraphobia at the age of eighteen after a series of traumatic events. Over the next couple of years, I clawed my way back to being able to leave the house. Eventually, I was able to live a normal life, but I could never become complacent.

Agoraphobia never truly goes away. Like with all mental health conditions, recovery is an ongoing process. I am almost thirty years old and my agoraphobia can still be triggered. If I am unable to leave the house due to a sickness bug, for example, a lot of my symptoms come back. When I try to leave the house after I’ve recovered, it’s extremely difficult.

Having a baby brought back some symptoms of agoraphobia. I didn’t want to leave the house with my daughter. I had no confidence in my ability to take care of her inside my house, let alone outside of it. What if she poops through her clothes and there’s nowhere to change her? What if she starts crying and I can’t stop her and everyone around me will think I’m a rubbish mom?

Despite all of the convenient excuses to not leave the house a baby brings, I found the strength to go out. And…

--

--

Laura Fox
Invisible Illness

I write to heal myself and others. Instagram: @laure_e_fox_