Mental Health

Managing Medication Anxiety: What to Do When You Just Can’t Swallow That Pill

Here’s why you struggle to trust unfamiliar medications, and what to do when you take what the doctor ordered

Cat Baklarz
Published in
8 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Image by Alexandr Litovchenko from Pixabay

The bottle of pills rattles in my sweatpants pocket as I tiptoe down the hallway to check if my friend is still awake.

I’m at wit’s end.

I’ve waited too long to take this medication I’m holding. When I first grabbed the package from my pharmacist this morning, I already felt my throat closing up.

“Make sure to take it at the same time every day, but don’t take it on an empty stomach,” the pharmacist pattered on, oblivious to my growing discomfort. I wiped my damp palms on my sweatpants and struggled to concentrate on her directives. “Tell your doctor if the pills make you nauseous or if you experience dizziness, muscle soreness, or racing heartbeat...”

I nodded quickly, already noting my own racing heartbeat pattering away as I paid for my parcel and wrenched the detailed patient package section out into full view.

‘Nausea and vomiting may subside within three months of use’

Great.

I groaned and said something nasty about Western medicine. And hurried back home, already nauseous with anticipation.

Sighing, I deposited the parcel on my bedside table and sat down to cradle my face in my hands. My ‘deep calming breath’ felt more like a feeble wheeze. I’d take my first dose right before bed. I set an alarm to remind myself, but I knew there was no way I’d forget.

Like it or not, I’m often afraid to take what the doctor orders.

What is Medication Anxiety?

Pharmacophobia, or the fear of taking medications, stems from a variety of causes. For many, trying new medications for the first time is a scary yet necessary experience. Here are some of the reasons medical mistrust persists, and some tips for managing your healthcare anxiety.

Cause #1: Miscommunication Between Doctors and Patients

The average American takes four pills a day. We’re taking more medications now than ever, but studies by the Pew Research Center show that about fifty percent of Americans believe their doctors do a “good job providing diagnoses and treatment recommendations.”

This medical mistrust raises tensions between healthcare providers and skeptical patients.

Even before COVID, the U.S. was “an unusually sick country for its level of wealth and development.” According to the Global Burden of Disease Project 2019 research results, the healthy life expectancy in the U.S. is more than twenty years shorter than the healthy life expectancy in Japan.

Healthcare debates continue to make US headlines, and people are losing trust in doctors. With the unveiling of the new Pfizer and Moderna COVID vaccines, medical mistrust has never been higher.

Miscommunication between medical professionals and patients is a leading cause of medical mistrust, and medical mistrust often leads to greater medical anxiety.

I witnessed this mistrust of medical professionals firsthand in my own household. My sister complained of joint aches and pains that no doctor could place. My mother suffered from an untreated, ruptured gallbladder during pregnancy. Because doctors had failed our family in the past, my dad warned my sister and me not to wear our prescription glasses, or take unfamiliar medications.

But what happens when you have to take a prescription to feel better?

Miscommunication and mistrust only make medication anxiety worse. While facing your fears about ingesting new pills or a new COVID vaccine, consider how your relationship with your doctor might affect your healthcare phobias. It’s never too late to establish healthy communication with your doctor.

Often, we fear taking new medications because the uncertainty of trying something new and unfamiliar makes us feel powerless. Speaking with your doctor and understanding your treatment options helps put you back in control of your health, which in turn limits medication anxiety.

Photo by Altin Ferreira on Unsplash

Cause #2: Researching Symptoms Online Is A Double-Edged Sword

It’s easy to Google symptoms and get a better grasp of your health issues through open online searches. But according to healthcare research studies many patients’ informal internet searches usually do more harm than good. Often, patients will self-diagnose using information found online, only to receive a completely different diagnosis after a doctor’s visit.

Sites like WebMD and Healthline help patients determine whether their symptoms merit a doctor’s visit, but they also put stress on overworked doctors and urgent care centers. These healthcare providers struggle to meet patients’ medical needs. Often a simple phone call or telemedicine visit helps determine whether patients should visit their doctor or simply monitor their condition.

I’m guilty of self-diagnosis myself. I’ve done my fair share of internet ‘research’ and ran to my doctor’s office convinced that I really have the latest, maybe not-so-greatest terminal disease. I mentally prepare for the worst-case-scenario.

I’ve ordered blood work only to realize that my nutrient levels are just fine. I’ve even requested breast and pelvic exams just to pacify the scorching, bubbling fear that something is terribly wrong with my body. Often, nothing suggests that I’m sick or unwell. And trust me, a pelvic exam isn’t the type of procedure I’d like to try again if I can avoid it.

So why do I continue to Google my symptoms when I know researching symptoms online is a double-edged sword?

I don’t ask unusual questions or insist that I’ve contracted harmful diseases to seem erudite or to annoy medical professionals. My panicked Google diagnoses and subsequent doctor’s visits come from a place of genuine — if incoherent — worry.

I want to prepare for the worst. But maybe I can do that in a way that helps both doctors and patients manage healthcare worries. And perhaps by building trust with your doctor and avoiding excessive Google ‘research,’ you can begin to tackle your fear of taking unfamiliar medications.

Health Anxiety is Valid, But You Still Need to Take Those Pills.

The bottle of pills tips lazily against the jumbled contents of my workspace.

Am I faking my illness?
What if I don’t really need this medication?
Should I have asked for a different pill?
Can I message my doctor with some follow-up questions?
Will I be okay?

Just as patients experience hypochondria or illness anxiety, those of us who also experience medication anxiety often greatly fear taking treatments for the real illnesses we do have. My medication anxiety is valid. I’m often terrified to try new medications with adverse side effects. But that doesn’t mean that I avoid taking that medication altogether.

If one in a hundred patients experienced adverse side effects, I convince myself that I’m going to be the one who falls victim to that improbable metric.

How in the world do I manage my medication anxiety?

Photo by Christina Victoria Craft on Unsplash

Managing Medication Anxiety

Taking new medications for the first time is often a scary but necessary process. It helps to build a toolkit for managing these fears before you have to face a new menacing bottle of pills.

1. Speak With Your Doctor

The first thing patients should do if they’re worried about their prescription is speak with their doctor. Many patient portals offer direct communication with your primary healthcare physician, but you may need to call the doctor’s office if you received medical treatment at an urgent care facility. Your doctor may suggest alternative medications that can be consumed in liquid form or administered by injection. Establishing open communication with your doctor helps rebuild trust with healthcare providers. Communication also gives patients the chance to clarify which side effects they should look out for. Speaking with your doctor can help you better understand your medication, which in turn gives you the power to challenge anxious thoughts about new prescriptions.

2. Rely on Your Friends

Whenever I take a new medication with cringe-worthy side effects, I shoot a trusted friend or family member a text and simply let them know what I’m about to do. I’m already speaking with someone, I’ll ask them to pause our conversation and make a weak comment about trying a miracle pill that has some wacky side effects. Even if your excuse sounds forced and flat, your friends likely understand the uncertainty that comes with trying a new medication. By turning your anxiety into a bit of light humor, you start to convince yourself that your predicament really isn’t all that bad to begin with.

3. Don’t Overdo It

Stress takes a toll on your body. It’s important to realize that overcoming your fear of unfamiliar pills is a win, and that you should take some time to distract yourself from your anxious thoughts if you must. Don’t take that new medication right before a big event unless it’s absolutely necessary. Instead, take that daunting parcel before a relaxed night in with friends, or before scrolling through your Instagram feed before bed. That’s not to say that you should call the night off on account of conquering your pharmacophobia — but if you need to take twenty minutes to take your mind off the ‘potential side effects’ or unfamiliar sensation, that’s A-Okay. You’re a trooper. Some cute animal memes are definitely in order.

4. See A Professional

If, on the other hand, you can’t overcome your fear of taking new medications and this is affecting your health, it might be time to see a licensed therapist or professional who specializes in anxiety disorders. Talk therapy, such as Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) and Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) helps patients suffering from medication anxiety understand how they process and respond to their fears. Don’t be afraid to consult several therapists before choosing a provider whose schedule and personality help you feel comfortable enough to share, challenge and eventually overcome your fears.

Medication anxiety is no walk in the park. Honest communication with your doctor and a better understanding of what causes your pharmacophobia can help you manage these fears. It helps to know which tools best help you conquer this uncertainty, and it doesn’t hurt to tell a friend or family member about your discomfort.

By managing your medication anxiety, you’re setting yourself up for success. And that’s just what the doctor ordered.

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

--

--

Cat Baklarz
Invisible Illness

|Los Angeles| Environmentalist, Writer, Historian of the Weird.