Most Americans Have No Clue What Immunocompromised Means

Let’s understand who the immunocompromised are

Carlyn Beccia
Published in
4 min readJan 12, 2022

--

What Immunocompromised Means
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When I was thirteen, my older sister saved my life. Or so she claims.

She administered an eighteenth-century-style chickenpox inoculation. She sat on my head and rubbed her open, weeping, itchy, chickenpox sores all over my arms, legs, and torso. It was a tad cruel.

“Mom says you have to get chickenpox now, so you don’t get it worse later. I am saving your life!”

Ahhhh, siblings.

I didn’t get chickenpox. (Thanks to modern science, I was later vaccinated when pregnant with my daughter.)

My sister’s Jenner-inspired inoculation did work on my other siblings. They all broke out in the telltale itchy welts. That was the first time I noticed that something was different with my immune system.

While other people got seasonal coughs and colds, I seemed invincible. When mononucleosis took out half the field hockey team in high school, I wondered why I had drunk from the same water bottle and not gotten sick. And when my roommates in college got influenza, I ran around taking care of them.

“How come you never get sick?” one asked.

--

--

Carlyn Beccia
Invisible Illness

Award-winning author of 13 books. My latest: 10 AT 10: The Surprising Childhoods of 10 Remarkable People, MONSTROUS: The Lore, Gore, & Science. CarlynBeccia.com