Music: Better Therapy Than Friends?

Hannah Strong
Invisible Illness
3 min readJul 19, 2017

--

I’ve always felt slightly isolated from the outside world. I’ve always felt like I don’t belong- I just simply exist. This feeling occurs a lot and I’m not sure whether this is a good thing. Sure, I like my own space and enjoy being on my own (hence why I travelled around America alone) but surely there has to be an extent to which this is too much.

And then there’s those nights where you just can’t sleep because your thoughts are so overpowering. 11pm. 1am. 4am. They’re the worst. You just want to ring or text your best friend and let all your problems out. But you don’t. You don’t want to wake anyone up and you don’t want to sound ridiculous. So the cycle of isolation begins again.

But there is someone or something that is there for you. Music.

It may sound ridiculous but music has pretty much saved my life. Call it cliche I don’t care; I honestly don’t know where I would be without music. In those moments where everything is too much and I’m unsure of what direction I should be going in, music helps. Recovery isn’t easy. Trust me. It’s a constant battle. But music doesn’t ask questions, or tell you that you’re being pathetic and that you’re fine, it listens. It doesn’t tell you to just “get better” — It feels your pain and ultimately helps you heal.

People tend to laugh at me for being ‘obsessed’ with bands and for seeing them live numerous times. Little do they know that the band that they laugh at has helped me far more than they have. Yes, I love 5 Seconds of Summer and yes, I’ve seen them live 14 times, but they make me happy. And when did it become ok to dictate someone’s happiness? Their music has helped me in so many ways — it reminds me that I’m not alone and life doesn’t have to be so damn perfect all the time. They provide an escape from reality and make the good times even better. The friends I’ve made because of this band mean more to me than the people that I’ve known since I was 6 years old.

I’m also not afraid to say that I’ve cried at concerts before. Hearing your favourite song or a song that means something to you live is a beautiful feeling. There is nothing better than standing less than 2 metres away from your favourite band / artist and having this simultaneous feeling of letting the music speak for itself.

So yes, I’m obsessed with bands and singers but as I’ve gotten older I’ve come to care less. In fact I speak freely now about the bands I love rather than hiding my music away because it’s not “cool” enough or it’s not played on the radio.

Music may not be a physical person, but its sure as hell is a lot better than sitting alone feeling numb. Friends come and go, but music is permanent. Even if a band breaks up (I’ve never forgiven the Jonas Brothers for breaking up), the music will always be there to pick you up again, even if it is 10 years later.

Do not let people define you by the music you listen to. I couldn’t care less if you listened to Bon Jovi or Nicki Minaj, just as long as that music makes you feel content when life is well….shit.

That’s all that matters. I promise.

--

--