My Phobia is Not for Your Enjoyment

Teasing people with phobias is just not funny.

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
Published in
9 min readMar 18, 2019

--

Credit: CC0

When reading an article written by Sherry McGuinn entitled, OCD Is No Fun. And It’s Not Funny, I started thinking about what it was like to grow up with a phobia. I was actually first reminded how awful this was, a few weeks ago when someone thought it would be amusing to watch me get squeamish by showing me the needle they’d just used to inject themselves with insulin. They got more than they bargained for and though they felt bad, I was put off for the rest of the day.

Now to be fair, it might have seemed like a bit of an indulgence for me to allow myself such a strong reaction when they had to take injections everyday, which they couldn’t just avoid because they were a bit afraid of needles. But then again, to be fair, I am not just a little afraid of needles nor do I get just a bit squeamish when forced to confront them.

What Are Phobias Really?

To back up a bit, phobias are not the same as regular anxiety. While everyone has things they are afraid of, the reaction of those with a phobia when exposed to the phobic situation or object is far more extreme and isn’t just a momentary response. Phobias involve extreme, irrational fears that lead to intense discomfort, distress and often full blown panic attacks, and…

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
Invisible Illness

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank