My Struggle to Control ADHD Hyperfocus

Sometimes it’s a good thing, but sometimes it’s not

Ryan Fan
Published in
7 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Photo by Paul Skorupskas on Unsplash

Disclaimer: this article is not intended as medical advice. Please consult your physician regarding any questions or concerns about your own health or mental health, particularly regarding medication.

As a law student who just finished his second year as an evening student, I have been applying to post-law school jobs. I work during the day as a special education teacher, so I take fewer credits than the regular law students the year below me and am competing against those students for these positions.

To be fair, we’re all only applying to summer internships next year, but in law school, the narrative is “the internship you get after your second year of law is your job after law school.” I have applied mostly to law firms, through a process known as “pre-OCI.” In the past, recruiters used to come directly to law schools to recruit students, but right now, most law firms are skipping the whole OCI process to start early and get the best candidates.

I have, for lack of a better term, been neurotic about the process. Use any word you want to label — obsessed, hyperfixated, and borderline anxious. I have had a couple of interviews so far and all of them have, in my estimation, gone well. In some, I have asked insightful…

--

--

Ryan Fan
Invisible Illness

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”