Newsflash! Mental Health Days Are Sick Days

Four reminders for why you should take a day off when you need to

Brianna Bohacs
Published in
5 min readJul 12, 2020

--

Photo by Zohre Nemati on Unsplash

I had a rough Wednesday. My day was jam-packed with reporting, endless meetings, and diving headfirst into a media list. Just another pressure-cooker day in the life of a public relations professional. On top of it all, my wifi decided to have a meltdown.

My family’s 13-year-old router was officially declared deceased as of June 8, 2020. Its life spanned longer than my childhood dog’s.

That router had gone to hell and back with my family. A divorce, a move, a grandparent’s death. We had truly been through it all together.

And it died on us. During a client call. With a mountain of action items piling on by the moment. In the middle of a f*cking pandemic.

And conveniently my phone’s hotspot decided to be the slowest it has ever been. When your work revolves around G-Suite, any internet issue immediately becomes a crisis.

Every second of my 9–5 is a battleground. Any moment I stall becomes another 10 minutes of work piled onto the end of my day when my brain is half-fried. With my wifi glitching out, it would be impossible to get my workload done by sundown.

--

--

Brianna Bohacs
Invisible Illness

22, SF. All over the place, but in a fun way. I write about my young adult shenanigans and moody brain at thegoodperson.co