R.I.P. Shannon Hoon From Blind Melon

Ashley Rae
Invisible Illness

--

24 years ago today, Shannon Hoon, the lead singer of Blind Melon, died of an accidental overdose.

I’ve had a thing for “grunge dudes” for as long as I can remember. Something about the long hair and ripped jeans really gets me going. But I’ve always been fascinated (for a lack of a better word) with their deaths, as well.

You start to play any grunge playlist and get me even just a tad bit intoxicated, and you’re pretty much guaranteed to hear my all my thoughts on Kurt’s suicide and Shannon’s overdose. Since Nirvana and Blind Melon are my favorite bands their short lives really get to me. Just ask my husband, he’ll tell you all about how devastated I am not just for me, but for the whole world, for all the life changing music that we were all robbed of…. Like I said, I get pretty worked up…

picture of my 30th birthday cake from my “grunge” themed party. Like I said, I’m a fan.

Anyways, the point is, I have a soft spot for these guys and their stories. And today I’m thinking about Shannon even more than usual.

I keep thinking about how badly I wanted to be the bee girl when I was younger. I remember watching her dance in those badass tights as I got ready for school, wishing I could bottle up and drink some of her confidence…

--

--

Ashley Rae
Invisible Illness

Wife, corgi mom, dad joke teller. I love reading & writing about life, love, happiness, and dogs.