Recognizing My Trauma Helped Me See the Signs of Abuse

Thirty years later, I could come through for a little girl just like me

Nikki Kay
Invisible Illness
Published in
10 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

Photo by Siavash Ghanbari on Unsplash

My eight-year-old is the kind of kid every adult loves.

She’ll have a conversation with you about anything, share her ruminations on life, and show you the latest contortion poses she learned from YouTube. She’s got a smile that lights up any room and, though many things are tough for her, she works harder than anyone else I’ve ever met.

Relationships with other children, however, don’t come very easily. She’s not very adept at reading social situations and, while she craves closeness with her peers and is desperate to be liked, it has proven very difficult for her to form lasting friendships. Her empathy and need for peer approval make her an easy target for abuse and bullying. Much like me, when I was a kid.

Photo by Cheewit Dtit App from Pexels

She’s been used as a pawn between other girls, made to believe she’s responsible for fixing their friendship troubles, fed conflicting stories from both directions and unable to decipher the truth.

--

--

Nikki Kay
Invisible Illness

Words everywhere. Fiction, poetry, personal essays about parenting, mental health, and the intersection of the two. messymind.substack.com