On Anxiety in Times of Uncertainty

Reflections on the Arkansas River

Aimée Brown Gramblin
Invisible Illness
Published in
9 min readMay 20, 2020

--

Arkansas River Flooding. May 22, 2019. Tulsa, OK. Photo by Author.

MAY 19, 2020

I woke up my twelve-year-old son this morning at 9:30 and said, “I’m just letting you know that you are going for a River Walk with me today. You can sleep until 10:00, but then you need to get ready.” I left his room and shut the door.

Our son has been experiencing increased anxiety and depression during the coronavirus shelter-at-home and has noticed his social anxiety increasing since school was dismissed for the year after spring break back in mid-March. Yesterday, my husband pointed out that leaving the house would do our son (and me) some good. I knew he was right and was determined to make a walk happen today.

Much to my surprise, our son didn’t put up a fight when I set forth my declaration. He did express his concern that wearing masks would make us stand out. I told him too bad. It is how it is.

We ate our breakfast, got dressed, and headed out. Not a block away from our house I realized it would be nice to have binoculars for bird watching. I turned around and had our son run in to retrieve my binoculars. He came out with my Bushnell binoculars and my Birds of Oklahoma guide. And, off we went on the half-mile drive to the Arkansas River trails.

--

--

Aimée Brown Gramblin
Invisible Illness

Age of Empathy founder. Creativity Fiend. Writer, Editor, Poet: life is art. Nature, Mental Health, Psychology, Art. Audio: aimeebrowngramblin.substack.com