‘Requiem For a Dream’ Was The Most Difficult Movie I’ve Ever Watched

The most accurate and harrowing depiction of addiction I have ever seen.

Ryan Fan
Published in
5 min readJun 20, 2020

--

From Atatele fr on Flickr

Addiction shows and movies usually have a cliche, non-realistic redemption plot where an addict changes his or her life by going to some meetings, and reform themselves completely and become charitable and almost God-like members of society.

Real life, however, rarely works that way — but one movie accurately depicted the experience of addiction I’ve seen so many of my relatives go through better than any. It was the harrowing Requiem For a Dream, directed by Darren Aronofsky, a movie I found myself convulsing while watching because it was just too hard to watch, too graphic, and too real.

It held back no punches. There was no happy ending for any of the characters. Requiem For a Dream is a movie I will never watch a second time because it’s just too sad, too real, and goes into a territory that may have not made it ideal for Hollywood and the box office, but made for the most graphic movie I’ve personally ever seen. Every time I hear its famous theme song from the string quartet of the Kronos Quartet, I get flashbacks to the most visceral scenes of the movie.

--

--

Ryan Fan
Invisible Illness

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”