S.A.D is a Total B*tch

Otherwise titled as “why I get so freaky when the weather sucks.”

Emily Kate
Published in
5 min readOct 4, 2018

--

“person walking on street and holding umbrella while raining with vehicle nearby” by Osman Rana on Unsplash

I used to love rain.

I even wanted to live in Seattle for most of my late teens and early 20's, partly because Frasier was (is, and always will be) my favorite show of all time, and partly because of its notorious reputation for perpetual rainfall. I don’t know how accurate that really is, but its what I was convinced of when I was younger.

Despite this previous adoration of gray weather, the past few years have instead found me wary of any and all weather aside from dry sunshine. I’m not entirely sure how much of this has to do with my anxiety over anything out of my control (weather included), and how much is related to actual Seasonal Affective Disorder, but its become a Thing that takes up more brain space and energy than it should in my day to day life. If it is the latter of the two, I guess it makes sense. Most people experience onset of seasonal depression between 20 and 30 years old.

Myself included, apparently.

Lets get this out of the way right from the get-go:

S.A.D, or seasonal depression, is a valid diagnosis. Many are under the impression that its a made up condition to exaggerate “blue” feelings and perpetuate drama for attention.

--

--