State Of Mind — Leaving A Legacy

M Siddiqui
Invisible Illness
3 min readApr 29, 2020

--

It was the birth of my daughter, Umayrah. Everything was fine until my wife was about to lose her life due to heavy bleeding because of the forceps delivery and later being unsupervised by the careless nurses. It was one entire week of horror in my life. I thought I’d lose her, and God forbid if it was so. The baby would be orphaned just hours after being born and would grow up with no memories of her mum. But the Almighty had better plans for her. My wife got better gradually and returned home after staying 10 days in the hospital. Thanks to the amazing staff at the hospital.

However, my daughter had been discharged home before her mom. And she didn’t have a warm welcome, as her mom was at the hospital fighting for her life. I and my brother-in-law took her to the barren and gloomy house with no balloon flying to the ceiling saying ‘It’s a Girl’ or ‘Welcome home baby Umayrah’. That made me feel even more sad. I had to place the car seat with the baby on the tea table, as the room was still unprepared. And had to leave the baby to her grandparents to go to my wife, as she needed me by her side. My little princess spent the first few days in the world apart from her parents.

Just a few days before the delivery, a woman locally died from the same kind of bleeding, leaving her newborn baby behind. She was home at the time, and it was too late to do anything. Also after returning home, when everything was fine, I heard a man die of cancer back in Bangladesh, leaving his one-month-old baby boy and it hadn’t been a year of his marriage. Readers, you can guess what sort of time I was going through.

Learning about all these incidents, I thought about how easy it is to leave the world, leaving your loved ones unprepared and with no memories or legacy. Thinking about this, I decided to write a children’s storybook dedicated to my little princess. The reason behind the idea was, if I had to be (because we do not have any guarantee of the next breath), I would leave my work behind. Even if my book makes money or not, my little princes could say that my dad wrote it.

He had issued a book that was dedicated to me. I thought if I get lucky and the book sells well, I’ll keep 30% of it for my daughter and rest of the 70% would go the charities that research cancer, helps children around the world, Children’s hospital and a little amount I’d keep away to help the young inventors or entrepreneurs as I had personal experience of being unable to start a business of my own. Dreaming about all these, I self-published a book that is still available to buy online.

My story isn’t to market my book. No, I wrote this, just to share my story, as the headline shows. I know it is not only me who had gone through the same situations and did not think about leaving a legacy behind.

--

--

M Siddiqui
Invisible Illness

Husband, Father and a student of English Literature and Creative Writing. Currently, chasing my lifelong dream to be a writer.