The 13 Rules of Drug Dealing I Learnt As The Son Of A Dealer

Zachary Phillips
Invisible Illness
Published in
4 min readJan 2, 2019

--

Image Credit: Blockstabfatality

My father was a drug dealer. He would use the profits from what he sold, to pay for what he used himself.

Growing up I was exposed to his dealing on a daily basis. I watched and learnt. Taking in all of the lessons he didn’t realise he was teaching.

I had to keep myself safe. In that environment, every piece of information helped.

Addicts are notoriously volatile, generally unhinged from reality, and are always desperate to score. Learning how everything worked was vital for my survival.

Please don’t let the following list project any sort of Walter White kind of glamorous/exciting lifestyle. A typical day involved complete and total boredom; I spent most of my childhood watching television and playing in the dirt.

It was only when someone knocked at the door did things get interesting. I would answered the door and entertain our guest, whilst my stoned father ‘went and got the stuff’.

Here is what I learnt:

1) Never show all of what you have.
­- You will be expected to sell/share a significant portion of your stash (whatever you show), regardless of how much you have, or when you expect to get more yourself.

2) Always say you have

--

--

Zachary Phillips
Invisible Illness

Intuitive Guide. Poet. Shadow Hunter. Coach. I help entrepreneurs navigate dark nights of the soul & find peace.