What are the Long-Term Effects of Traumatic Brain Injury

Why TBI causes problems years later and survivors struggle to live with the new, rewired brain

John R. Miles
Invisible Illness
Published in
12 min readSep 29, 2020

--

Sad Man Crowing for Repair
Image by Sammy-Williams from Pixabay

During my youngster (sophomore) year at the Naval Academy, I became a DJ and hosted an alternative radio show with my friend Todd Krulak, the son of General Krulak. It was a great distraction to the strict military structure and constant pressures that made up our typical hectic day. This excursion allowed me to embrace my passion for music and became my creative outlet. Through the experience, I was introduced to many new defining artists from the late 1980s and early 1990s, and it was one of those groups, Toad the Wet Sprocket (TTWS), who unexpectedly caught my ear.

A few months after discovering TTWS, I suffered my first traumatic brain injury while competing in a rugby match. I still don’t remember much from the impact except that I was running down the pitch, about to score, when I was tackled from behind, landing headfirst into the goal post. I woke up on the ground with my coach and teammates standing over me.

The coaches popped my separated shoulder back into place and told me I was OK. I finished the game, not remembering it or most of the weekend. Over the next few weeks, I experienced headaches, dizziness, ringing in my ears…

--

--

John R. Miles
Invisible Illness

Award-winning author, Speaker, and Host of the #1 Passion Struck podcast. My mission is to guide you in becoming your best self. More at www.johnrmiles.com