The Creative Use of Self as a Psychotherapist

What seems taboo can actually be healing

Rev. Sheri Heller, LCSW, RSW
Published in
6 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

Photo by Kyle Head on Unsplash

I always grappled with the classic portrayal of the clinician as a wall of neutrality. This was especially true when I began interning at mental health faculties as an undergrad in psychology. My boundaries were not appropriately stringent and to top it off, even now (as my clients have informed me) I am still not proficient at shielding my visceral reactions behind a poker face.

Perhaps it was my identification as a victim of complex trauma, along with my mother's plight with schizophrenia that hindered my ability to effectively drop into my role and authority as a therapist-in-training. In hindsight, it’s obvious that I divulged too much about myself, albeit looking back I also see the nascent qualities of creative self-expression that were emerging in my work as a therapist.

To paraphrase the founder of depth psychoanalysis Dr. Carl Jung, to be an effective therapist one also has to be comfortable as a patient. Striking that balance would be the key to my effectively facilitating treatment that embodied my creativity and dispositions while honoring ethical and clinical guidelines.

By the time I made it to graduate school in the 1980s my professional identity was slowly taking form. During my internship, I was…

--

--

Rev. Sheri Heller, LCSW, RSW

Complex trauma clinician and writer. Survivor turned thriver, with a love for world travel, the arts and nature. I think outside the box. Sheritherapist.com