The Elephant in the Cockpit

If you ignore the elephant for too long, eventually, it will crush you. It’s why I left the cockpit altogether.

AP2
Invisible Illness
Published in
6 min readNov 26, 2022

--

Photo by Hanson Lu on Unsplash

I’m going to stick my neck out today. I will talk about something I’ve been avoiding for specific political and professional reasons for some time now. A topic close to my heart.

As it turns out, aircrew are extremely reluctant to discuss mental health. On the rare occasions I’ve brought it up, I’ve seen Captains visibly squirm in their seats. They will find any excuse to talk about something else.

Anything but the elephant in the cockpit.

Unfortunately, the problem isn’t simply an inability (or unwillingness) to discuss it. Aircrew are also more unlikely to get the help they need because of the stigma attached — because of what it might mean for their careers.

I recall talking to one clearly distressed Captain. It was evident that the last few years had taken its toll.

I asked him if he’d talked to a company doctor to get some time off. I told him I’d done so and was afforded 3 months of stress leave.

But he refused. He said no airline would hire him if they found that on his record. He said it would be career suicide.

--

--

AP2
Invisible Illness

Aviator. Author. Awesome Father. Expert at stalling. I help people navigate their fears and take command of life.