The Golden Key to Recovery

Beth Burgess
Invisible Illness

--

What if I told you that I have recovered from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression, bulimia, self-harm, Social Anxiety Disorder, and alcoholism - and that there was one tiny thing that was the key to recovering from them all?

You might think I had become a magician, “discovered” religion, or was a compulsive liar. But none of those things played a part (although becoming a wizard might have been cool.)

It may surprise you to learn that it was neither therapy nor medication that helped me to start and stay on my path of recovery and self-development. Although therapy played a huge role in helping me recover, it was not the secret weapon I carried around constantly that ensured I made progress every single day.

The Downward Spiral

Before I found the key, my approach to my problems was to dwell in self-pity, self-criticism, sadness, and shame. When I felt bad, I would just hurt myself more. Then, I’d curse myself for doing that and being unable to cope with life. I’d tell myself all sorts of heart-breaking things, like I didn’t deserve to live.

--

--

Beth Burgess
Invisible Illness

★Wellbeing & Wisdom ★Therapist @ www.smyls.co.uk ★Thinker @ www.wiseism.com ★Award-winning, Bestselling Author @ http://amzn.to/1soSY56 ★Human ★Friend ★Namaste