The ‘Invisible Friend’ Technique to Objectively Counseling Yourself

Sharing a useful method I learned in therapy regarding how to rationally and objectively view yourself and your problems

Chandrayan Gupta
Invisible Illness
Published in
7 min readMar 21, 2024

--

Photo by Jopwell on Pexels

Introduction: Where and Why I Learned this Technique

There was a time my head was a smorgasbord of cognitive distortions.

Not that I am now the most rational of them all. But from 2014–21, when the depression and the anxiety were at their worst, my thought patterns were a toxic tangle of self-hate and low self-esteem. I blamed every tragedy on myself, even those beyond my control.

I was also pessimistic. I now realize there is a fine line between pessimism and cynicism. I will always be cynical. That is my nature. But it is possible for cynicism and optimism to coexist. That is me now.

But back then I believed my condition would never improve. I would always be depressed and anxious. Nothing would ever be okay.

I misinterpreted the slightest oversight by my loved ones as proof I was unwanted and unloved. For instance, if my friend said they would call me at 8 PM and did not, from 8:01 PM I was certain they never cared.

--

--

Chandrayan Gupta
Invisible Illness

2x Psychological Crime Thriller Author | 415+ Articles Across 10+ Publications on Medium | Instagram: chandrayan_gupta