The Number One Thing I’ve Learned in Therapy: Your Story is Nothing to Be Ashamed Of

How I went from ‘trying’ to go to therapy to ‘going’ to therapy.

Gracia Kleijnen
Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readMay 2, 2021

--

Orange leather couch in an empty room with sunbeams and shadows of a plant on the white wall
Photo by Martin Péchy on Unsplash

So we’re really doing this”, I thought to myself.

After some back-and-forth pacing, I took a deep breath and rang the doorbell. No answer. Maybe I was at the wrong address? I rang once more.

A calm, friendly person welcomed me in. We sat ourselves down. Then they dropped The Question.

So. How are you?

Asking me why I had come there wasn’t even necessary. I had braced myself, but the Train of Tears already accelerated into fifth gear. Weeping, I looked up. They met my eyes with confirming nods. To this day, I don’t know what this nodding meant. Recognizing a pattern, maybe, of people coming in and crying uncontrollably?

They continued to dig for information as I shared the most pressing issues I seemed unable to solve on my own. Using these as specks of paint, they constructed an image of how my life developed up to the moment I arrived at their practice in a not-so-pretty mental state.

From Trying To Go to Therapy…

The first time I tried going to therapy was at age seventeen-ish. That didn’t work…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
Invisible Illness

Sheets & comics creator. Words on YT, relationships, mental health, productivity & self-development in 35+ pubs. 📕Book author: https://bit.ly/Gracia-Book