The Secret Healing Technique Most Therapists Won’t Tell You About

Could it be what YOU need?

Crystal Jackson
Published in
5 min readApr 17, 2022

--

Photo by Ion Fet on Unsplash

As a former licensed therapist and a former therapy client, I have to admit that I found myself reluctant to return to the therapeutic process. In truth, I loved the experience, and it made a huge impact on my life.

Yet, having to return to therapy so many years later felt a little like admitting defeat. I had learned coping skills. I had all the professional and personal training to handle the challenges in my life. So, why wasn’t I able to handle them?

It became obvious that I needed professional help. I was having regular suicide ideation, heightened anxiety, and recurrent depression. But what tipped the scales between powering through it and going to therapy was losing someone I loved.

He didn’t die. He just decided that he didn’t want to be in a relationship with me. Even though I kept the friendship for a while, the loss was devastating — perhaps even more so when I was trying to be his friend while wanting to be so much more.

While he was kind about it the breakup, the sense of rejection was overwhelming. I couldn’t understand how I could keep loving people who did not love me. It brought to the surface every past trauma, and I knew that therapy wasn’t something I could avoid any…

--

--