Subconscious Mind & Inner Child Explained: The Key to Wellbeing

What it is. Why it matters. How we can heal it.

Alex Miguel Meyer
Invisible Illness
Published in
11 min readJun 20, 2020

--

Original Photo by StockSnap on Pixabay

I have spent a couple of years trying to figure out how our mind works. How can we get it to be at peace? How can we be truly free and happy? What makes for a good life?

It all started a couple of years ago on a Saturday night:

8 pm. I reach my friend Patrick’s house. We used to hang out there before going out. I ring the doorbell. No answer. I ring again. No answer. I call him. No answer. Strange. We had agreed to meet at 8 o’clock.

After a few minutes of waiting the door opens. I look into the face of a ghost. A ghost that kind of looks like my friend. Pale. Messy hair. Red, swollen, teary eyes. Like he’d been crying for hours.

What happened? I ask, expecting bad news like the death of a close relative.

Nothing. I mean I don’t know. He says.

It turns out that this wasn’t the only night he’d spent like this.

There is this unbearable sadness in me. He would go on. Sometimes I just wanna die.

He was in deep depression. I was devastated. How could I not have noticed that? I didn’t understand. His life seemed perfect. Nice parents, good job, friends, money…

--

--

Alex Miguel Meyer
Invisible Illness

Instructor & Coach I Founder of the Career Accelerator I Assess your career skills here: https://alexander-yrocgkao.scoreapp.com